Happy National Fudge Day (6/16)

Oh, fudge!  Fudgey, fudgey, fudge.  You are choclatey, super sweet, and something I just can’t get on board with. Sweet is good, it is! But, super sweet is not something that I crave. So, of course the list of National Food Days that I’ve assigned myself to is going to celebrate a National Fudge day encore. The first one was about a month ago, but it’s not a rerun, like we saw is the case on National Pistachio Day, falling on January 26th and again on February 26th. No, you see May 12th is National Nutty Fudge Day, but today is just plain old National Fudge Day. See  what we’ve done here? Today, I was blessed with the choice.

Leftover From Nutty Fudge Day

So, just like on National Nutty Fudge Day, I went down to my friendly neighborhood Marble Slab, where they hand make fudge. There I selected a coconut fudge and a red velvet cake fudge for just over five bucks. Of course, they’ll both sit around for months the same way that the nutty fudge has, but I like the idea of trying some different fudges. Since the red velvet fudge tasted mostly like icing, I took a thin slice and hugged it on top of the other like a cake. After eating a piece that was about 1″ x 2″, I felt that I had pretty much met my fudge quota for the year.

I just hope I don’t have to throw these away like I did the pumpkin flavored batch. That finally went bad.

Incidentally, if you want to know more about fudge, I elaborated a lot more on National Nutty Fudge Day. Check it out.

See you Sunday for National Apple Strudel Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

