Happy National Apple Strudel Day! (6/17)

What better way could there possibly be to kick off one’s Father’s Day than to wake up bright and early to prepare a delicious apple strudel, and surprise your family with this delicate creation when they wake from their glorious slumber? There is only one way that is better, and that is waking up at 10AM and going down to Publix where they always have one packaged up and ready to go.

If you’ve read this blog before, you might have picked up on a few hints that in spite of my embarking on this quest of eating every food on the National <Insert Food Here> Day list, I’ve also been trying to lose some weight, a symptom of my desire to not go on blood pressure medicine like my doctor wants me to. To that end, most of my breakfasts have necessarily been very protein based, so in order for me to justify an apple strudel breakfast, I was going to need to do something to feel alright with myself for eating this mess. I decided I would jog to the store. It’s true, that the nearest Publix is as close to where I live as the nearest Duane Reade is to any NYC resident, only about a twenty-minute round trip (including purchase time), but usually I drive there in spite of its close proximity, so it still made me feel better about things. So much so that I even felt alright finishing my daughter’s serving.

An apple strudel is really nothing more than an apple pie, but the nature of a strudel whirls the thin dough around the gooky sweet middle stuff. It, of course, stands as a tremendous coincidence that the word strudel is actually the german word for “whirlpool!” How about that? The conceptual design that makes a strudel the staple of my Publix bakery, however, is thanks to Austria. I tell ya, those guys were some serious capitalist innovators, probably why they didn’t swing Communist like the dill holes who lived all around them. 

The best way to eat a strudel is with four or five cups of coffee, no sugar. The bitterness of the beverage is the perfect counter to this super sweet mess. I think bacon would also work. 

See you Thursday for National Peaches and Cream Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Desserts, Food, Lunch, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

