Celebration of the Moveable Feast

When The List gives me “days off”, I get feeling a little weird. Yes, this blog was started so that I could eat a whole bunch of stuff, but the other half of my rational was so that I could focus on writing something each day. When The List gives me several days off, I not only flounder in my writing, but now I even get a little nervous because the past two “vacations” the list has mandated, I would have had to take off anyway in order to manage the major personal responsibilities that coincidentally popped up exactly on those days. Case in point was on Memorial Day when there were four days with no food items featured. As I mentioned, I would not have been able to fulfill those days anyway since I was holed up in the hospital’s PICU the whole time.

 

This is a Garbage Can. Not a Grill.

Sure I tried to make the most of things. I was, after all,  spending Memorial day in Tallahassee Memorial Hospital. I mustered up a little patriotism in spite of my frame of mind. At one point I even got a little excited because it looked like someone had parked a grill right outside the room, like maybe they were going around to personally grill a burger for each occupant. Then I realized that those weren’t grills they were wheeling around, they were the garbage cans. Now that I think back on it, it was a pretty dumb mistake since my olfactics couldn’t match up the visuals of that grill just parked there. 

It wasn’t until a few days after I had arrived home, the events and emotions of that weekend settling down in my head, that I found my palate had suffered a severe grilling deficit. I had so been looking forward to releasing a tank of propane, and many hours of charred animal meat into the air, that I found the need still remained within me. It was a feeling I simply couldn’t ignore. So, it was that this year’s Memorial Day became a “Moveable Feast!”

Moveable Feasts are big in my family. After my brother and I had vacated our parents’ house for college, coming together for holidays became increasingly difficult. Normal stuff like girlfriends wanting you to be with their family instead of yours, trips and events overlapping, and vacation days running scarce threatened our family get togethers. For all these sorts of reasons, as well as the fact that actual birth dates always seemed to be scheduled poorly or mentally misplaced, we came to the understanding that celebrating the date of a holiday wasn’t as important as celebrating the occasion that it stood for. Sometimes that meant we’d have Christmas in January, sometimes it meant birthdays would be on a give-or-take a month basis, and sometimes it meant that Memorial Day would simply require a bit of postponing.

Grilled Buffalo Wings

So, on Sunday June 10th, I put the flag back out front, fired up the old Webber, and got busy! My lunch was grilled buffalo wings. I had to use two sauces because I’m the only one in the house who will do hot. Wings on the grill like this are great for Memorial Day because you have to keep going in every 5-8 minutes, flip them, and spread your sauce on. The secret to hot wings on the grill is to get the sauce simmered down to where it’s really pretty thick so that the last two times you paint it on the wings, it sticks real good.

Steak And Asparagus for the Grill

For dinner it was a very welcome steak and asparagus. I had been keeping these frozen for a special occasion. They are from The Salt Lick, which is up near Lake Blackshear, Georgia on SR300. I don’t typically grill asparagus, I saute it in a pan. I don’t know why I’ve resisted, though. I was able to cook them the same way, with some olive oil, a little garlic salt and wedge of lemon. It turned out a little crisp and amazing. Soggy asparagus is for hogs. Asparagus really needs to have a bit of *snip* when you bite it.   

Never let life’s little foibles undue your happiness by attaching so much meaning to a day on the calendar. Every feast is completely moveable. It’s how I got my Memorial Day back.

 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Entrees, Food, health, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

