Happy National Peaches & Cream Day (6/21)

Rarely do I consult Wikipedia for research, and even rarer do I quote it, but it was interesting, I thought, that the entry for “Peaches and Cream” reads a “dessert made of peaches and cream. It is often served at ice cream stands and float shops.” (Note that there are five links for extremely common words on the Wiki. Makes you wonder why made, of, and, it, is often, served, at, stands, and shops weren’t also linked.)  What’s funny is their definition is really all I thought it was too. In fact, when I was growing up, and we had some half & half in the fridge, I’d cut up some peaches (if we had them, of course) and just dump a bit of it on top.

When it’s not a food option, Peaches & Cream is also an extremely popular song title, used in a fairly dirty song by 112, an R&B group from the early 2000s; a relatively dirty song by platinum artist and band Beck; an extremely naughty song by an R&B group called Monifah; and an awkwardly inspiring song dedicated to the daughter of an English hippy dude named John Butler.

As far as the food concoction is concerned, though, the truth is that when you search for how people prepare “peaches & cream,” it becomes clear that most people must just consider it as simple as the Wikipedia entry. But what’s funny about that is that almost no one seems to be dumping nice sweet cream on  a few peach slices. I saw sour cream used, cream cheese here and there, but I mostly read about a bunch of pies, cookies and ice cream icicles that consist of the ingredients of peaches and various creams.

Peaches on the Grill

One thing seems certain, though. As long as you use something with “cream” in the title, you’re good. Once I understood that rule, it was easy. So, the way I celebrated National Peaches & Cream Day was, I halved a couple of peaches, doused them in a bit of oil. and threw them on the grill. Once they were good and grill marked, I glazed them with a bit of honey. After taking them from the flames, I scooped a bit of peach sorbet (I should have just bought regular vanilla based ice cream), into the pit hole, and dolloped a bit of homemade whipped cream on the top.

Since I’m only ten minutes from the Georgia border, Georgia peaches were the only way to go. Just for kicks, though, I bought one of the California peaches at the store for comparison.  Here’s what I can tell you about the difference between the two. California peaches are harder to pit and peel.  They have a more pronounced flavor, however they’re also a little more tart. Georgia peaches are sweeter, but they have slightly less flavor. Of course, I had to pop a Benadryl before any of this because peaches are a snack fruit, and I am allergic to most snack fruits. Especially cherries and apples! Granted, I haven’t had a peach in over ten years, so I’m probably not the best person to do a compare contrast, but Georgia Peaches still win.

Peaches & Cream on the other hand does not. I’d rather just drink a smoothie.  Oh well.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Desserts, Food, health, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

