Happy National Praline Day! (6/24)

What the hell’s a praline, right? I mean, how many times have you gone down the nuts and chips isle at the grocery store, and bought a can of pralines? Personally, I’ve never even come upon a praline in a Planter’s tin of “mixed nuts.” In fact, I’ve truly never heard of a praline outside of it being an ingredient in a scoop of ice cream. 

Pralines & Cream was my mother’s favorite ice cream. Whenever my family would all go out for ice cream, my Dad always seemed to get Rocky Road, my brother always got chocolate chip mint, I’d always concoct some kind of awful flavor combination that should never have been served together (i.e. bubble gum ice cream with chocolate chips and cocnut topped with strawberry syrup), and my mother… well I’ve already spoiled that part. 

The mind is a weird thing, isn’t it? These ice cream events are securely stowed in my precious moments memory bin, but it never occurred to me before now to wonder what a praline actually is. The answer is that it’s a pecan coated and baked in a cream and syrupy sugar deliciousness. It’s actually based on a French indulgence from the 1600s that was ghettoed down by America’s City of New Orleans. When France made it, they used almonds, but down here in the Southeastern U.S., that particular nut was a bit hard to come by in the Ole’ Bayou. Pecan trees down here in the Southeast, on the other hand, are abundant. When you walk around a park down here in the early Winter months, it’s not uncommon to see a family scoping around the ground. This is not usually because someone has dropped a contact lens, but becuase they’re hunting pecans under a pecan tree. Pecan trees are everywhere, and if they’re on public property, that makes them public pecans.

If you’ve never had a Pralines & Cream ice cream, I highly reccommend this living mess. Explosively sweet and crunchy pralines in vanilla ice cream, swirled with a rich caramel, I truly believe this mixture of delights is exactly what this little ten-year old Jimmy was trying to accomplish with his twisted candy combos of jelly beans, fruity sprinkles, and double chocolate fudge.

I’m telling you, Pralines & Cream is so rich and sweet, it”l make ya wanna throw down a half-gallon of water… STAT!  Go get chu some!

See you Monday for National Strawberry Parfait Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

