Ginger Cookies? Aww, SNAP!

For decades it has been so that when a passenger aboard a commercial jet complains to the flight attendant about his/her tummy feeling queezy, “Let me get you some ginger ale,” has always been the reply.  That is because ginger is one of those home remedies that is so widely known, that it is even offered as a solution when the only ginger that is contained in the medicine lies within the name printed on the can.  Actually, the bubbles may do something, make you burp I suppose?

The science behind ginger being a belly calmer is well documented, however, and you throw on top of it that molasses is the other primary ingredient (another homeopathic remedy due to its high iron content), then you’re talking about the ginger snap being one ideal dessert. What we’re basically saying about with this cookie is that you could eat as many as you like and not worry about an upset stomach.  In fact, the argument could be made that the more you eat, the better you’ll feel.

Unfortunately, no one before me cared to do any real research on why it’s a ginger “snap” and not a “crackle,” “pop,” or “yippee.” One guy online claimed that another guy said that it was derived from the German word “snappen,” which means snap, but from all the accounts I can gather “snappen” doesn’t mean that, it means surprise. I’m not sure who is going to be surprised that they taste ginger in a cookie that is called a ginger snap. Well, maybe it’s the same sort of people who are surprised that there is no ginger in something called Canada Dry.

Murray “Old Fashioned” Ginger Snaps

Incidentally, I didn’t make the yummy things you see on the top there, and that’s just a little whipped cream I zipped together and dolloped on top of them.  No big deal. The cookies were store-bought, but I felt pretty good about my purchase because Murray’s are “old-fashioned” and if you need proof, just look at the fact that they still put out a “One Pound” bag that is actually 16-onces! Unheard of in the retail food industry, just go ask Starbucks.

The Ginger Snap Sir

Speaking of gross, the one instance that ginger snaps would not cure your upset stomach is in the case of the 2000 film of that title. I lot of the gross is staged as fake within the story, and some of the fans of this consider it a “cult classic,” but I’d recommend a good pound of the cookie in order to stomach movie. That might actually be the ideal way to celebrate next year’s National Ginger Snap Day. If you’re serving up a platter of snaps at your party, I recommend my whipped cream presentation over the “Ginger Snap Sir” that was my first attempt.  My daughter couldn’t see the face in it and I kind of got creeped out by a cookie man with a mustache. Like the Pringles guy, you know? Don’t you feel like that dude’s had all your crisps caught in his ‘stache before you ever pop open the can? Gross!

See you Monday for National Anisette Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

