Happy National Fried Chicken Day! (7/6)

When I’m talking about fried chicken, I’m really only talking about one thing and that’s the sort that Mr. Harland Sanders started selling from his restaurants in 1952. Now, that’s not to say that I’m any sort of KFC purist, not by a long shot! Tonight’s featured fried cuisine was from Popeye’s. Love the Popeye’s! I don’t find it particularly Cajun, like the commercials would like me to believe, but it’s quite fantastic!

So, that’s what fried chicken is to me. But what I am unsure of is the range that we should be considering on National Fried Chicken Day. You’ve got fried wings, breasts, livers, gizzards, nuggets and tenders. I’ve seen chicken fried out of chinese restaurants, irish restaurants, fancy restaurants and dumpy restaurants. Here in the South, I can even partake in something called chicken fried chicken.

This day was not to be an act of creativity and bravery for me, however. See, I have been on one of these no/low carb kicks lately, and although it did help me to drop about eight pounds, losing that weight did not incite any lowering of my blood pressure, as I had hoped, and it thoroughly wrecked my digestive system. Suffice it to say that carbs weren’t the only pleasure that the diet deprived me of. Then, on a work trip to Tampa last week, a sign was shown to me that I was finally through with my carb-free diet.

Fate’s sign for me to end the no carb-insanity

In hindsight, I am uncertain if today became a celebration of fried chicken or carbohydrates. My plate consisted of two pieces of spicy fried chicken, a good cup of French fries, a huge clump of mashed potatoes with gravy and a biscuit with butter and honey. I went ahead and opted out of dessert.

Tomorrow, I think I’ll have a salad for lunch.

See you Saturday for National Strawberry Sundae Day… or National Maccaroni Day. I’m not sure which one yet.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Entrees, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

