Time to Kethcup on Things

Of the regularity that people actually read this blog I am uncertain. There are definitely a few “auto-likers” that ping each post, that I am sure of. An “auto-liker” is one of these people who see a new blog posting on Recent Posts and click “like” without reading it in hopes that the author will go and click “like” back on their blog. You can tell you’ve been pinged by an auto-liker because after you’ve spent a good hour putting together and writing your thoughts out, it is liked inside of thirty seconds of your pressing Publish. So how many of a bloggers “likes” are really people who have read and like a blog versus those who are just after more traffic for themselves? Don’t really know, but I’m guessing it’s probably about a one-for-six ratio.

So, for those two or three of you who actually have read some of this, my food journey, first let me say Thank you! Let me also, however, say I’m sorry. Although, the eating part is something I have been quite on top of, since my son was born a month and a half ago and since my boss was fired three weeks ago, it’s been difficult for me to do much more than type 140-characters for a tweet, much less write out 500 for a blog. It’s only been in the past couple of weeks that I’ve begun to fall behind, though, so I wanted to take an hour or so this morning to get fully caught up.

On June 22nd, we celebrated National Chocolate Eclair Day. There’s big ones and little ones, but they’re all basically the same, a long cream filled donut with chocolate glaze on top. I’m not sure what the differences between a regular eclair and chocolate eclair are, and neither did the bakery worker, so my family ate these three little guys.

On the 26th, the night got away from me and I failed to write about the chocolate pudding I made. It was really good, but it was more of a concoction for dipping things like cookies in than a stand alone treat. I’m sure it was due to a lack of sugar because I get nervous about too much white powdery substances in my food.

July 2nd was National Anisette Day. I asked three bar tenders if they had any and they each told me “no, but I’ve got Sambuca.” So, now I have a bottle of Anisette and a bottle of Ouzo. It turns out that Anisette is just not the same as other liquoricey booze. It’s France’s version, and it actually doesn’t contain any liquorice at all. It’s made from pure anise, which is what makes it more sweet than other country’s alternatives.

My family and I celebrated National Chocolate Wafer Day on July 2nd, but I failed to write about that. Sure, I could have just gone with a Kit Kat and been done with it, but with something so plain as a chocolate wafer, I prefer to try to expand my horizons a bit. So, we had a selection of Canadian Voortman sugar free mocha wafers and Scotland’s Tunock chocolate wafers. The sugar-free mochas were surprisingly better.

Finally, on Independence Day it was National BBQ Day. Now, who didn’t celebrate that one? I grill about every weekend anyway, as well as a couple of times during the week, whether rain or shine, so National BBQ Day meant that I needed to step it up a notch. For my 4th of July cookout, I grilled up hotdogs, chicken wings, short ribs, kabobs and corn. With all that and two cases of beer, we all felt absolutely abnormal by the time the first firework ignited.

Ok, well, there we have it! All up to date. Today is National Milk Chocolate With Almonds Day and I’ll be touching back with a detailed account. I think we’re talking about Almond Joys here, but let me do a bit of research and get back to you before I write anymore.

Again, I’m really sorry about the lag in my blogging. It was really bugging my work ethic. I think, after 135 posts, however, I’ve got my second wind, though. So, are ya ready “auto-likers?” Then I’ll see you a little later for National Milk Chocolate With Almonds Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in blogging, Booze, Desserts, Entrees, Food, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time to Kethcup on Things

  1. Java Girl says:

    It happens to me too! I appreciate the time you put into your blogs. You do a great job! 🙂

  2. trkingmomoe says:

    I read your blog. I have only been food blogging for a few weeks and do take time to read who I am following. I did bounce around for a few years in political blogs. This is a nice pleasent change. Congratulations on the baby and sorry about your boss. Heavy work load and a baby up at night. I have noticed the auto like and following that some are doing. I like to read and comment if I have something to add to the conversation. Besides your post about Publix caught my eye. I am taking advantage of Winn Dixie fuel perks right now. If I copy a recipe or like something in the blog I will also let the blogger know. It is a lot more work to do a food blog because you have to cook it most of the time and take pictures. I also like some of the diaries I have run across the past few weeks. Thanks for bringing this up and giving me a chance to vent on the auto thing.

    • Jim Clark says:

      Well, if you can’t vent here then what’s the point, right? WordPress really pushes the “help others to help yourself” model that has made so many pyramid schemes so successful, so I’m not surprised about some of the flaws in the system.

      I really do appreciate that you took a couple of minutes to POP out and weigh in. Glad I’m not alone. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

