“Today Was Just Peachy!” I Screamed.

On my last entry I vented a bit about how I was irrationally steered from the ice cream activities that the rest of the county was engaged in. This was because my List of National Food Items of the Day declare it to be National Tapioca Day when Ronald Reagan himself  had already declared it to be National Ice Cream Day. Well, now I’m softening a bit, because even though it’s true my List missed the actual day of ice cream by five days, it does fill this, National Ice Cream month, quite nicely with little pepperings of yumminess.

Today was National Peach Ice Cream day, and as fate would have it, Chick-fil-a just released their peach ice cream shake yesterday. Now, I don’t show much sign that the company connected the two, other than this calendar from last year that a franchise in Statesboro Georgia pitched online. It’s a little suspicious, but I bet whenever they originally put that sucker out there, it was on National Peach Ice Cream Day. Chick-fil-a’s good like that.

Eating peaches is a good experience for me to have occasionally because they help me to understand what it is about eating oysters that people find disgusting. Sure, I’m typically thinking about canned peaches here, but that’s all I’ve got. I can’t eat raw peaches because I’m allergic. My memory of them is not awesome, though. Fuzzy on the outside, and then you’ve got that tearing, juicing, sucking, slurping sound that happens when you… Yeeessssh!!!

When they’re frozen and stuck in ice cream, however, I can deal. Not that I’d be eating it on any other day than today, mind you. I’ve never actually seen anyone choose the peach ice cream after perusing an ice cream store’s selection. Come to think of it, I can’t say that I’ve ever even noticed an ice cream store that carried a peach flavor. Admittedly I could have just skimmed right the heck over it, though.

To the point, the Chick-fil-a shake’s pretty good. Vanilla milkshake with fruit in it? It’s like a really bad for you smoothie! Certainly better than the McDonald’s shakes I grew up with. Granted, I haven’t had one of those in a couple of decades. For all I know they’re fantastic now. But the Chick-fil-a shake has got just the right amount of peach chunks, approximately two dozen going up the straw, and only two getting stuck at the entry point. Those two are important in a shake. It’s fun sport to pull the straw out of the cup and suck the clumps from the other end. Any more than two or three and it becomes irritating.

Now, don’t tell my family, but since I already indulged at lunch, I served them all up some Peach Sorbet I had leftover from National Peach Cobbler Day. After I ate mine, I looked up what sorbet was and found out that it’s typically a non-dairy version of sherbet. Guess what else, though? It’s totally the least calories when compared against regular ice cream or yogurt, so I was right! Granted, I technically didn’t let my family participate in National Peach Ice Cream Day, but I’ll make it up to them this weekend with another pop-in at Chick-fil-a. Yeah, it was at least that good.

See you Wednesday for National Caviar Day (that’s fish eggs, right?).

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in blogging, Desserts, health, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

