Happy National Ice Cream Day… not really (7/20)

If you’re a semi-frequent reader of this blog, you might be aware that it was National Ice Cream Day on July 15th. On that day, however, I was celebrating National Tapioca Day because the Internet is often stupid and full of misinformation like some of the food holidays that are on The List that I dedicated myself to back at the beginning of the year. So, right from the start, I just need to get it out of the way that if you have been led here because some factual looking website has made you believe that July 20th is National Ice Cream Day, I’m sorry to have to be the one to tell you that you missed it by five days.

Ice Cream with a Lollipop Spoon

There is good news to report, however, if like me you were wanting to make today a little special by jumping on a big honkin’ serving of ice cream. The first bit of good news is that this has been National Ice Cream Month all along, so we all could have celebrated ice cream on the 15th or the 20th or the 3rd and been absolutely accurate in our holiday observances. The second bit of good news is that today is also National Lollipop Day (supposedly), and so I just did something today that made me quite a bit upset that I’ve never tried it before. I used a lollipop as a spoon! Did you get that? I used a freakin’ lollipop as a spoon!  Genius, right?

Now, before I go on, just so we’re square, I do love ice cream (silly thing to have to admit, right? I might as well be divulging that I poop), but I really don’t eat it a whole lot. In fact, if I didn’t have a seven-year old daughter and a wife who’s a chocolaholic, I might not eat ice cream even once a month. I suppose it just doesn’t bounce into my crave zone too often. Yet, when it’s made available, I can never turn it down. When I’m at the Chinese buffet, I’m going to end up with a scoop of cookies and cream or chocolate chip mint at the end. When a soft serve ice cream machine is available, you best believe that Jimmy’s going to get himself a cone that’s seven inches tall! There was one in the diner on the last cruise I was on, and I never passed the room without getting a cone.

Today I did celebrate, though. I celebrated National Ice Cream “Day”/Month with three of my absolute current favorites, Spiced Pumpkin Pecan, New Orleans’ Caramel Praline, and Whoppers Ice Cream (Yeah, they have that!). Of course I put a bit of chocolate syrup on top. Seriously though, why wouldn’t you?

Unfortunately, After three scoops, I’m kind of funky full now. Come to think of it, I always over do it with ice cream. That actually may be why I don’t eat it that often. Huh!

 See you Saturday for National Creme Brulee Day!

 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in blogging, Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

