A Holiday for Whites Only

For hundreds of years the two sides have been at odds, both resolute in their philosophies and opinions. Some say preference is based on parental conditioning, while others believe we are just born with the tendencies we exhibit. Don’t ever try to discuss which is right, though! You could get more civil conversation between a Palestinian and a Hebrew. Put simply, one side is never going to see the logic of the other.

Now, to be sure, chocolate and vanilla people are not intolerant of the primary flavor that their counterpart prefers. In fact, most would agree that a little bit of one could always supplement a majority of the other. The argument simply comes stems which flavor the majority should consist of. That being said, here’s where my belief system falls on the matter. Vanilla.

There’s no topping that doesn’t work with vanilla!

Alright, alright, settle down! Let me just explain a little. I do prefer vanilla, but like I explained, chocolate’s good too… in my vanilla. You know, you just can’t really add vanilla to chocolate. Once you start with chocolate ice cream or a chocolate bar, that’s it. You can only add more chocolate. When you start with vanilla, however, the skies kind of the limit. Of course, my daughter can add anything to any ice cream and make it work, but that’s just the gift of a young palate. I mean, look at the top picture up there. You’ve got one with chocolate sauce, sprinkles and cookie crumbles, you’ve got one with cookie crumbles and pecans, and you’ve got one with chocolate sauce just completely dumped on it and a cherry (that one’s my wife’s, she’s a chocolate person).

The Vanilla Taste Comparison

For the celebration of National Vanilla Ice Cream Day, I purchased Blue Bell brand, because their slogan is “Tastes just like the good ole days,” and I felt like that’s really what you want in a vanilla. Of course, it’s also a couple of dollars cheaper per pint than the others. Ben & Jerry’s makes a pint of vanilla for $4.47, but since Ben & Jerry’s is framed in my mind as the ice cream with lots of stuff in it, buying their vanilla didn’t stack up right in my brain. I did want a taste comparison of vanillas, however, so I bought a Haagan Dazs mini and the taste was noticeably different, even to my chocolate person. It’s true that Blue Bell definitely tastes like the good ole days, but Haagan Dazs tastes more like the current days of niche marketing and mass production which always make products better. Maybe not worth the extra money if you’re going to dump a bunch of syrup on it, though.

I’ll see you Wednesday for National Hot Fudge Sundae Day (which, by the way, would primarily consist of…)!

 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
Aside | This entry was posted in candy, Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

