Happy National Raspberry Cake Day! (7/31)

The blessing and the curse of following a “food-a-day” list like this is that I’m pushed into partaking in many foods that I haven’t ever tried, or rarely ever eat, however, that same rarity is also what has forced me to make several of them. Molasses bars, were something new. Plum pudding was not tremendously available in February. And, although Raspberries are in season right now, there just aren’t a lot of bakeries in my area that are specializing in a Raspberry Cake.

Now, I truly do appreciate the raspberry. Not too many actually come into my house in any given year, but I’m down with the little red guys. Plus, they’ve got all those antioxidants in them now that they must not have had when I was growing up, because I never once heard about them. A cake made from raspberries, however, I am not at all familiar with. To be quite frank, I’m really not at all familiar with baking a cake in general. This is not news to anyone who has read one of my other failed baking attempts. It has been suggested to me by a reader’s comment that I should investigate learning baking ratios if I’m ever to be serious about baking. I’m getting there. Since I have not bought the book on that yet, however, I was most tempted to go with a recipe that premised a raspberry cake from a mix.

Scrolling through the many things that online bakers call “Raspberry Cake,” however, it quickly occurred to me that some of these guys were stretching things a bit. Some of the versions I found online, especially the ones that are cake mix based, should just not be titled raspberry cakes, I don’t care what they throw in the title. Case in point McCormick’s Raspberry White Chocolate Cake, which only gets away with throwing Raspberry into the title because it throws Raspberries along the top border of the cake. Without the raspberries on top, it’s just a double layer white cake with pink frosting in the middle.

So, I decided to bake. I locked onto this recipe because it seemed to hold true to the berry, kind of like a raspberry pancake. Sadly, my success in its creation was not wholly sound. The recipe called for almond flour. I couldn’t find any. When I got home, it turned out that I didn’t have as much white sugar as I thought, so I had to substitute with half brown sugar. Then I got the genius idea to put a little almond extract in the batter, and I’m gonna tell you my friend, that stuff pours out fast!

The Raspberry Cake

The good news is, it turned out looking like a cake. The bad news is that it really needed ice cream to go with it. Kind of spongy. A little tough in the rear. I think I may be getting the hang of this baking, though.

See you Wednesday for Raspberry Cream Pie Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

