Happy National Raspberry Cream Pie Day! (8/1)

The number of desserts I’ve eaten in my life that have contained raspberries, I could very likely count on just one hand. Is that because I’ve pretty much lived exclusively in Florida? I think probably that’s the case. We don’t do a lot of Raspberries here, not that I’ve seen anyway. Now in the past two days, I’ve tried to make and eat two in as many days.

Raspberries are kind of funky. A little tart, a little bitter in places, but also alluringly sweet which is just enough to draw you in to have another. They’re a gift of some serious vitamin C, not a bad amount of calcium and protein, and a massive amount of seeds that are masterful at getting wedged between the teeth and in the gum line.

The Smashed Crust

After last night’s not quite success making of a raspberry cake, I was not real hopeful about making a raspberry cream pie. Then, when I accidentally slid the entire pie crust onto the counter, I knew it was really not looking good for my outcome. To make matters worse, making a Raspberry Cream Pie required the remarkable concept of mixing liquids till they become solid, something I simply have not come anywhere near mastering. Whipped cream is easy. That stuff just has the knack for coming together. Eggs, well now those get a little feisty. I’m sure I’ve got the speed of the blender all wrong when I do them. Now today I’m working with sugar, water and gelatin with berries and lemon juice all mixed together and the recipe says mix till it starts to thicken.

Well it didn’t thicken, but the whipped cream did, and when I folded it all together, it was a hopeful feeling when I poured it all into my shattered pie crust, and stuck it in the freezer. When I pulled it out of the fridge a few hours later and actually produced a slice, well let me just say that it made me much happier than it should have.

The finished product was kind of refreshing. Kind of like something you would be served at a fancy restaurant to clean your palate. This recipe I used is deceptively healthy tasting, though. The raspberries gave me this feeling that I was doing a good thing. Then, I remembered the half cup of sugar and full cup of heavy whipping cream that I had dumped in there. This is not a healthy dish. After this evening martini, I might just need to clean my palate, though.

See you Thursday for National Ice Cream Sandwich Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

