Happy National Rice Pudding Day! (8/9)

We can all agree that National Rice Pudding Day is not going to ever show up on any restaurant marquis or menus. It’s a good enough treat, it really is, but it’s just not something that is ever going to appear anywhere outside of a grocery store or a home refrigerator. Coming right off of a lumpy custard, rice pudding actually just felt like a second helping of yesterday’s concoction.

There was a twist, however, because apparently Kozy Shack makes a chocolate rice pudding, something I never knew existed. Of course you can add chocolate to anything, so it shouldn’t have shocked me really, but I was pleased because I knew there was going to be some push back from the family about National Rice Pudding Day when I got home, especially following National Custard Day. There’s often a collective face when I declare these National Food Day treats. Rice pudding was most assuredly going to yield such a reaction, so the additional bribery chip of chocolate was quite handy to have.

For a while, about five years ago, I was on a rice pudding kick, you know for snacking on around the house. It seemed like a healthy alternative to sweets. It’s not, though, at least not relatively. Maybe you can save yourself 20-30 calories from regular pudding, but it’s all dessert, and the rule on dessert is, and should always be, JUST EAT IT!

So, rice pudding is lumpy, it’s sweet, it’s good. There’s really not too much more to say about National Rice Pudding Day. Except, I will say this, it’s possible this blog is having an effect on me, because I’m pretty sure six months ago I would never have bought two varieties of the same thing and combined them in a fancy little vase looking thing. I certainly would never have topped it with a maraschino cherry. That’s not a complaint, just an observation. Hey! Maybe I’m becoming a “foodie.”

See you Friday for National S’mores Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, health, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

