This Dessert is the Bombe! (8/11)

Please understand that I am fully aware of the differences between giving 100% and half assing it. That being said, this thing that I made on National Raspberry Bombé day was still really good!

What a bombé is supposed to be, is a methodically layered frozen dessert, each layer being individually frozen on top of the next inside one of those fancy, bubbly molds. The mold turns the finished product into a dome looking creation, and the whole thing would likely take just under five hours to prepare, at least 24-hours before eating it. It would also technically take an additional $25 mold that I would use this one time before dropping it off at Goodwill.

Needless to say, real recipes for a bombé do not come from the “Dad’s On the Go” hand book.  Still, as I have committed to eating my way through 2012’s List, something obviously had to give. In times like these, when I can’t buy the food of the day, and can’t fully create the food of the day, there really is only one option left for me, and that is to half-ass it.

All that being said, I think I discovered a really good and easy thing! Is it dome-shaped? Nope! was it layered in the slightest? Not really. Was it really good? My wife’s exact description was, “Wow, that’s really something! There’s a lot going on there.” And what was going on was this:

  • a big honkin’ scoop of raspberry sherbert plopped in the middle of a chilled corningwear dish
  • about a 1/2 cup of chopped cherries (marachino and fresh) and 1/4 cup of sliced almonds folded into a really heavy, thick whipped cream that I had flavored and colored with some marachino cherry juice; this whole mess lined the outer portions of a small corningwear dish.
  • then I covered the whole top of the mess with the rest of the whipped cream concoction and mushed some fresh raspberries into the thing.

    Based on a Bombe

Look, I’m not saying it was technically a bombé, but it was most definitely “Da Bomb” (to quote my 1998 self). Looking at it now, and thinking back on what it tasted like, I guess what I made was actually more of a variation on an ambrosia, but the fact that it was easy and quick and not difficult nor irritating to make was an enormous plus! Also, it was not too filling, so it would really be a great dessert after some kind of creamy alfredo type dinner. Now, with this experiment under my belt, I can clearly see that I will be making it again in the near future, only this time it will be contained inside a shortbread pie crust. Annnd, I just drooled on my pants!  I’ll need to come up with a name for it other than Raspberry Bombé, though. Thoughts? Suggestions?

See you Tuesday for National Creamcicle Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, health, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Dessert is the Bombe! (8/11)

  1. Java Girl says:

    Looks delish! This is something I want to try sometime! 🙂

    • Jim Clark says:

      You won’t be disappointed! I love the simple things that the get the “How did you do this?” result. My Dad always scooped softened ice cream into an Oreo pie crust and called it “homemade.” I think that this may just be the advanced version of that system, but I bet even he wouldn’t put it together.

Leave a Reply

