Not Flexible? You Can Still Do a Split.

Running around today, doing errands, with not enough time to complete them, the thought of stopping into an ice cream shop for 5-minutes to partake in a banana split seemed like an impossible task. Another time, another place, I would have gotten one while I was at the mall, but there is no ice cream option at that mall. Stupid mall!

Frankly, I wondered if I would even find one. Banana splits seem kind of like a throw back to the 1950’s, even though they really throw back to like the early 1900’s. They just seem more like something a soda jerk in a funny little square cap at a malt shop would offer up. If it’s ever even been an option at an ice cream shop in my lifetime, I must not have ever considered it. Of course, that probably has something more to do with my protest of fruit as/in dessert. I mean, fruit is the “healthy snack,” right? So, what’s it got to do with my sweets fixes? Ever notice that no one’s trying to drop a scoop of french vanilla into anyone’s salad or put green beans into an Oreo crust? So, why is it such a bang up idea that I have a dessert that features fruit? Am I right?

This was the Havana thing I went to.

When I got home from all my running around, I had about forty-five minutes to get ready before my ride was going to show up to take me to this Havana themed function that I kind of got roped into. It seemed as if it wasn’t going to be possible for me to pull off the celebration of National Banana Split Day. Then, I had a most brilliant idea. I would make one! Three scoops of ice cream, some shpritzes of whipped cream and syrup, some shredded almonds, and a banana later, there it was. My first banana split (to my best recollection)! I found that in a pinch, a corn holder made the perfect banana split bowl. The ice cream was good. The banana was a banana. I goes together alright. Next time I’ll probably do a virgin split, though. I think you get my meaning.

See you Sunday for National Cherry Popsicle Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

