Happy National Pots de Creme Day (8/27)

Well, now I’m impressed! Here is a National food holiday that is celebrating a food that has its own website, http://www.potsdecreme.com. Clicking on the link made me nervous at first because, even though I couldn’t come up with anything, I just thought it absolutely had to be innuendo for something I did not need to see. This website does, indeed, go into great detail about the history and methodology of pots de crème, the rich custard dessert as well as the little lidded cups that go by the same name. It’s not, it’s legit.

Since, www.potsdecreme.com  does such a formidable job of covering the basic topic of pots de crème, there really is no call for a condensing of the information here. Should you wish to learn about it, make it the right way, or buy dishes to serve it in, go there and live it up! Here I’ll type out my thoughts and experiences with pots de creme as well as how, I now realize, I made something that wasn’t quite it.

Potsdecreme.com defines the old-fashioned concoction as a barely solid custard, gently folded together and strained of remaining egg and chocolate particles. What I did, was grabbed a quickie recipe from elsewhere online, thepioneerwoman.com, which it turns out is a bit of a misnomer considering she used a blender. Considering the slightly runny description given on potsdecreme.com, I know that my version didn’t turn out right. Of course, that doesn’t mean I didn’t score a major success! Hey, who am I trying to convince? You saw the picture at the top, so you know.

I used the thepioneerwoman.com’s recipe as a base, but something was really funky about it. It didn’t have any cream in it. And unless my two years of high school French are failing me (one of which I failed), Pots de Crème should translate to “Pot of cream.”  This oversight is an easy fixed, though. The pioneer chick’s recipe called for really hot strong coffee (I used decaf since I was eating this thing at night), so I simply reduced the coffee by a ½ cup, and boiled up some heavy cream as a substitute.

Here’s what I did… I think. I never remember to write stuff down.

  • ¼ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • ¼ cup bitter-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 eggs

Chop and stir in blender, then:

  • 6 ozs “8 O’Clock Coffee” (decaf)
  • ½ cup boiling heavy whipping cream
  • 1 oz cognac
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 small ginger bread cookies (I don’t know why)

Blend. Pour. Refrigerate. Eat. — Probably serves four.

Oh yeah, I also shredded some of the chips into more of the heavy whipped cream and schplopped the chocolate whipped cream right on top. If you make some of this stuff, please know that it is major! There is no way it’s not kicking your butt all the way to bed for the night. And trust me, it will be a goooood night!

See you Tuesday for National Cherry Turnovers Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Booze, Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

