A Rare bit of Welsh Tradition (9/3)

Ok, be honest. You thought it was some kind of rabbit concoction too. I’m not sure why we would think that. It’s not like people type out their speech impediments. Maybe I drew an assumption that rarebit is how rabbit is spelled in Welsh.  Wait, where is Welch? Is it Welch? No, Welch isn’t a place, it’s a grape. Wales! Welsh people have to be from Wales. Yep, I just looked it up, they’re from Wales. 

So, it’s not rabbit, obviously. It turns out that Welsh Rarebit is a wicked, calorie explosion of cheese, bread, and why not throw some nice dark beer in there, right? What the hell! After making it as an appetizer before a Shepherd’s Pie dinner, it was very clear that Welsh Rarebit should not ever be served as an appetizer. Plus, the stuff’s an addictive monstrosity!  It’s everything that the P90-X guy would tell you to absolutely steer clear of for the three months that you’ll be spending staring at him for hours a day, listening to him make the same awful jokes over, and over, and over…

Here’s what’s in the Welsh Rarebit: Cheese and beer

Ok, there’s more to it than that, but not much. I took a recipe from the NY Times, and in that recipe there was also flour, mustard powder, some Cayenne, Worcestershire and butter. Of course butter. I served mine on untoasted french bread slices because that is the bread that is the best to cover with gobs of cheese. Also, when I bite into toasted French bread, it destroys my mouth. Not in the recipe, but in my Welsh Rarebit, were also some tomatoes that I sautéed in oil and garlic. I laid them down on the bread before blanketing the bread in the cheese and shoving the whole thing under a broiler.

As I was eating my third slice, my palate suddenly realized that this whole Welsh Rarebit thing is real similar to a cheese & broccoli recipe that my family likes to make at Thanksgiving/Christmas. You know, come to think of it, the side of my family that the recipe comes from, they do actually dip into the Welsh gene pool, and not in the too distant past either. The family broccoli cheese recipe is composed of cheddar cheese, cayenne, tobacco and Worcestershire sauce. It’s really just missing the mustard powder and beer. Of course, dumping the mess over broccoli is also different, and makes for a much more healthy rouse, something we all need to feel at the Thanksgiving table. A little fiber in the colon can really make a body feel better about having to cope with all that other gook that got thrown in there.

My recommendation, should you choose to try this, is serve it up with many drinks and put out small amounts, because it is not as good once it cools. Of course, after enough of those drinks, I won’t make a whole lot of difference.

See you Saturday for National Date-nut Bread Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Food, memories, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

