Happy National Hot Cross Buns Day (9/11))

image

One of the things that this National <food of the day> List likes to do is celebrate a traditional holiday favorite completely out of season. So, to celebrate National Hot Cross Buns Day in September is right in the vein of normality.  The cross on a hot cross bun represents the crucifixion cross of Christ, so it is typically a Good Friday food, which falls in April. And even though “The List” did give Hot Cross Buns as a celebration option on Good Friday, it also listed Pecan Pie on that day, so I had to prioritize then. You know, even though I doubt it was meant this way, it actually makes a sort of sense to also celebrate Hot Cross Buns today. After all, the reason it’s a Good Friday treat is because the cross on top of a Hot Cross Bun is symbolic of the crucifixtion cross of Christ. So, since it’s already a food that serves to comemorate a sort of heroic death, it seems like not the worst overlap of food holidays to also serve them on 9/11.

There is a nursery rhyme written for Hot Cross Buns that, of course, has nothing to do with any of that. Nursery rhmes almost never seem to have relevance to anything, it seems. None the less, the song has been running through my head since last night. Unfortunately, it turns out, I’ve never actually known the lyrics or tune to “Hot Cross Buns,” possibly ever. I always thought “Hot Cross Buns” was about a horse race because my mind had, over time, algomated it with the tune and lyrics of “Three Blind Mice.” So, this is how I just realized I have always thought the nursery rhyme went (to the tune of “Three Blind Mice,” mind you):

Hot Cross Buns. Hot Cross Buns.
See how they run, Hot Cross Buns.
One jumped over the other one.
Had a tumble while on the run.
Keep on going, it’s so much fun
with Hot Cross Buns.

Yep! That’s not how it goes, alright. Frankly, I think my version is better than the real lyrics anyway. Of course, my version of actual Hot Cross Buns, on the other hand, I’m willing to bet is not better than… well, better than actual Hot Cross Buns. See, two days ago my attempt at baking Date-Nut Bread threw my confidence so far off that I wasn’t ready to try again this soon, and since Hot Cross Buns is, not only a Spring phenomena, but also a New England one, they weren’t available for purchase in this portion of the Florida Panhandle anywhere. So, I did what I had to do and made a quickie Pillsbury version of the recipe.

image

It served its purpose. It was bready. It had some dried fruit in it, although needed some cinnamon. Or something. I drew the ancient method of execution on the rounded surface in icing. Since I never grew up with these things, though, some fresh rolls with cranberries and icing on top reallly hit the spot with my lamb and asparagus dinner. Happy National Hot Cross Bun Day, everyone.

See you Wenesday for National Chocolate Milkshake Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Food, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

