Happy National Creme de Menthe Day (9/15)

image

There are several varieties of booze  that are unblendable, like scotch and corn whiskey. Then there are the ones that serve no other function, but for mixing. These include amaretto and triplesec, but possibly none requires a mixing agent (or five) more than creme de menthe. This stuff is like concentrated mint, and, by itself, is really kind of nasty. Kind of like that goo that the dentist makes you soak in sometimes.

Of course, the most widely acceptable drink made from creme de menthe is The Grasshopper. Like most drinks that are made with creme de menthe, a grasshopper requires equal parts creme de menthe and creme de cacao, which is a chocolate and vanilla flavored liquor that really helps dull down the mint nicely. It also requires a bit of cream, and the en result is as close to chocolate chip mint ice cream as you’re going to get with booze.

Making or ordering a grasshopper today would have been one the absolute easiest ways to celebrate National Creme de Menthe Day, but there were two very significant factors that were preventing me from taking the easy way out. The first prevention factor was simply that I did not
want to have to buy another bottle of mixing liquor that would sit in my liquor cabinet for years untouched. Thanks to The List I currently am in possession of a bottle of Baileys, Anisette, Ouzo, Triple Sec, and now Creme de Menthe. Considering I’m almost exclusively a scotch and beer drinker, these bottles are very much just cabinet fillers now.

The other intrusive factor was that today was the noon FSU v. Clemson game, an event at which I would be tailgating beginnig at 930am, and a Grasshopper, with its creamy quality, is simply not a tailgating beverage. The only thing I could think to do, was find some kind of coffee concoction to celebrate. Unfortunately, simply mixing coffee and creme de menthe is gross. Then, after purusung all the Creme de Menthe options I could find online, it occurred to me that I would have to come up with my own recipe. I’ll admit, there was a lot of failure last night, but after making many, many sour faces, I found something that worked. It goes like this:

12 oz vanilla “Muscle Milk
1/3 cup Creme de Menthe
1/4 cup Kahula
1-1/2 cups good coffee

image

Sesame Swamp Stain

Of course, the color was absolutely funky, like the armpit stains on Oscar the Grouch’s undershirts, but the flavor was quite nice, and quite a good start to a full day of football! After only 12 ounces of, I’m calling it Sesame Swamp Stain, I was ready for my first 10am beer of the 2012 football season!

If you decide to try this weirdo beverage, please let me know what you think. My taste buds may have been a little biased. Oh, and… GO ‘NOLES!

See you tomorrow for Cinnamon Rasin Bread Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in blogging, Booze, liquor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

