Happy National Cinnamon-Raisin Bread Day! (9/16)

Cinnamon Raisin Bread that I didn’t make or eat.

Cinnamon raisin bread is a naturally sweet, home-made textured, loaf of bread that is always a nice addition to a breakfast or lunch spread. You simply need only cut up half a loaf, lay out some softened butter, and you’re going to get some takers guaranteed. In hindsight, a loaf of Cinnamon-Raisin Bread would have been a pretty good idea for my tailgate at the FSU game Saturday, but that was National Creme de Menthe Day, and to be honest, I was much too focused on how I was going to incorporate that into my day to be forward thinking enough to buy a loaf of cinnamon raisin bread for breakfast, though It really would have gone well with the eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits and fruit bowl that I whipped up and that absolutely no one ate. 

— You know what? Let me just take a little side bar here:

Somewhere within the evolution of this awkward P.C. politeness that America has embraced, it has become a standard practice to not partake in food that is offered, I can only suppose for fear of being perceived as imposing. The thing is, when the person is invited to sample the goodies that have been laid out, and then he/she does not, isn’t that behavior exactly impolite? So, in order to appear well-mannered, people are putting forward the opposite behavior from what they intended. In Asian cultures, if you are offered food and reject it, it’s, “Sayonara Sally!” Here in America though, the most acceptable response when offered food is, “Oh no, that’s ok.”or “No, I couldn’t. But thanks anyway.” It’s quite Outrageous!  

Anyway, since I didn’t buy a loaf the day before, and because there’s was no chance that I going to try to make another loaf of bread after my intense failure on National Date-Nut Bread Day, I found myself cowardly thinking, what would I do with a whole loaf of cinnamon raisin bread, anyway? Then, as I was strolling through the bakery, I laid my eyes on something that brought my thoughts to engage this way,

If today’s to be a celebration of Cinnamon-Raisin Bread, then aren’t we talking about any old combination of bread, cinnamon and raisins?

Cinnamon-Raisin Buns… Same Difference!

I think so. And I can think of no better combination of those three factors than a big fat box of disgustingly sticky raisin cinnamon buns! Back in February I swore off them for 40-days, sticky buns, I mean. They really do sometimes have a way of making me feel quite ill. It’s certainly been long enough, I’d say though. From the picture that I took back then, it doesn’t appear that I weighed any less or more than I do now, so what the heck’s the difference? Coming off of the mess that I put myself through at the football game, I can’t imagine these measly calories are going to make a difference in my weekend cum.

So nom, nom, nom they went! I’ll make it up with salad during the week.

See you Monday for National Apple Dumpling Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in blogging, Breakfast, Desserts, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

