Happy National Apple Dumpling Day! (9/17)

National Apple Dumpling Day kind of just sat in the back of my head for most of today. Every once in a while it would shift forward slightly, just long enough for me to wonder what exactly an apple dumpling was, then it would gently settle on back to the back. In the world of dumplings, I’d actually only ever had chicken and dumplings before, and while I had always enjoyed Don Knots’ and Tim Conway’s performance in Disney’s 1975 flick, “The Apple Dumpling Gang,” I don’t remember ever actually seeing an apple dumpling before, not even in the movie.  Truthfully, I didn’t know if it was a lunch, dinner or dessert.

Then, while I was sitting at Monks, eating one of the more incredible sandwiches I’ve ever had in my life called a Popper, I glanced across the street at the Bruster’s Ice Cream across the street and what do you think their markee said? “APPLE DUMPLINGS ARE BACK!” Can you believe this? Apparently it’s National Apple Month? I don’t know, it’s not on my list. Whatever, because when I trotted my too full belly across the street, they sure did have a a nice hot apple dumpling to plop down next to a couple scoops of delicious vanilla ice cream. The dumplings were reheated so hot that by the time I took my first bite within two minutes the dumplings were already soaking in a sugary-cream based soup.

Just so it’s clear, like the comedy intricacies of Don Knotts and Tim Conway, apple dumplings are dessert. Apple dumplings are a deliciously sweet dessert. Also, wontons are stuffed dumplings. I learned that too.

See you Tuesday for National Play-Doh Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in blogging, Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

