Happy National Pancake Day (9/26)

Welcome to the one day that is dedicated to, quite possibly, the only food that universally, 100% of everyone absolutely loves! The pancake. Well, it’s not really the only day. In fact, National Pancake Day was already celebrated on February 21st of this year… as well as February 28th. Of course, February 21st was the original and most authentic National Pancake Day because it coincided with Shrove Tuesday (or “Fat Tuesday,”) and has been a centuries old tradition of eating unleavened bread and/or pancakes on this day. February 28th, also celebrated on a Tuesday, can be considered fairly authentic as well because IHOP declared it to be so in 2006. Now, IHOP may not be a 4,000 year old religion, but they have been the International House of Pancakes for fifty years, so I’m thinking we’re going to allow it.

The only National Pancake Day that is not, in fact, authentic, is today, September 26th. There are no official organizations, groups, or companies establishing it to be so, so basically, on this particular Wednesday, someone who was particularly internet savvy probably just decided to put off their diet for another week because they pulled into a Denny’s. Something so trivial as “it doesn’t really exist” never stopped us schmucko bloggers from writing 500-words about anything before, though, has it?  So let me be the last entry of the day to say, “Who cares? Let’s eat pancakes!”

This Relic Griddle Cooked Me Pancakes when I was my daughter’s age.

Getting up early enough on a weekday to make pancakes, unfortunately, was too severe of a challenge. Especially on garbage/recycle day! I mean, that’s ten minutes out of my morning right there! So what’s the solve? Pancake lunch? Give me a break. How’s a man supposed to get through a second half of the day on pancakes and syrup? I can barely make it through on a soup and salad. The answer’s pretty simple then, isn’t it? It’s how churches typically acknowledge and celebrate Shrove Tuesday, and it’s the most exciting answer you can give a kid when they ask, “So, what’s for dinner?”

My daughter’s about to turn eight in November, and in all that time she’s been completely deprived of breakfast for dinner with pancakes. Isn’t that outrageous? Well, on September 26, I do declare, “IT’S ABOUT DAMN TIME!”  Of course, I’m not going to say that to her. When we get excited in my family, like we are today, we usually just drop a big F-bomb on one other. They’re pretty hard to contain on a pancake dinner night. I think most church pastors will back me up on that one.

Pancake Breakfast for Dinner

Needless to say, after all the swears were said and done, the night calmed down and we all had a pretty great breakfast for dinner! Pancakes, sausage, hash browns, some fruit, a little juice, we were all doing the belly tap by the time the last slurp of syrup was slathered up. I always make the Aunt Jemima kind. I guess it just doesn’t feel like cooking until you’ve cracked and mixed in an egg.

See you Friday for National Strawberry Cream Pie Day. 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Entrees, Food, memories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

