Happy National Strawberry Cream Pie Day! (9/28)

Perhaps you’re looking at the picture there and saying to yourself, “Look at this nerd! Dummy made a some kind of cake on National Strawberry Cream Pie day.” Well, jokes on you because I didn’t even make it! The thing is, a strawberry cream pie, which is a kind of creamy, white, strawberry flavored slice, is made almost exactly the way that the creamy middle of a Strawberry Boston Cream Cake is made. In fact, if you click around a bit, you’ll find that some folks show you how to make a “Strawberry Cream Pie,” but list making cake as part of the process. Perhaps the ambiguity of it all is why this one that I bought at Publix’s bakery was just labeled “Strawberry Boston Cream.”

Still, curiosity was rumbling around in me about the authenticity of what I ate on National Strawberry Cream Pie Day. So, I pulled up the Google, and did a search for “cream pies” to find out if there was a hard and fast definition for them. Wikipedia’s definition of “creampie” was the first entry that listed, and let me tell you something, EWW! Look, I’m no prude, but when I’m poking around online looking for information on a “cream pie,” one of the last things I want to see is Wikipedia’s definition for “creampie,” much less that picture that they’ve got there. My search settings were even set to the safest possible. Oh well. It’s not like I wasn’t looking up dirty words in the library’s old Webster’s Dictionary at school, and that book’s settings were set to safe too. Still, it’s great to now know that my daughter can look up “69” on Wikipedia and get, not only a definition, but also full illustrations whenever she needs to know. Thanks Wikipedia!

My slice of strawberry cream pie looked like a muppet.

Well, I’ve kind of lost my appetite now. Good thing I already ate my cake. Pie! I meant pie! It’s a good thing I already ate my slice of Strawberry Boston Cream Pie.

See you Sunday for National Mulled Cider Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

