Happy National Taco Day! (10/4)

Tacos may historically be Mexico’s native signature dish, but in the United States, they’re the American family’s feel good, party-time every time fun food. There really is no other dinner that can so successfully get the entire family happily together at the table as well as Taco Night! The upstairs has never rumbled with excitement from the announcement, “Good news everyone! Tonight’s breaded perch and brussels night!” Nor from the words, “Hey kids, get in here and grab an onion roll, because it’s make your own olive loaf sandwich night!” But Taco Night… oooohhhh, sweet, sweet Taco Night! You are an American delight.

All that being said, I need to speak straight up from the start, or at least from the second paragraph. I made absolutely no attempt to do a family taco night tonight. Now, that’s not to say that Taco Night isn’t celebrated in my house at least every other week, but a taco night really does require a precise items list, and there just wasn’t any time for the grocery store today. This would mean that I would have to settle on someone else’s construction method. It’s a fact that by age five, we are all experts at making our own taco, while everyone else makes them a little bit wrong. For me, the cheese has to go on top, while I’ve seen some rationalize it should go right on top of the meat so that it melts. That makes sense, and it’s completely wrong.

Taco bell puts the tomatoes on top, but they come pretty close to an ideal layout. Of course, Taco Bell now boasts the Locos Doritos Tacos, which receive a whole lot of great marketing. Have you tried these things? The problem with the Locos Doritos, is that a Taco Bell taco is already pretty salty, and that Doritos shell is basically a salt coated tortilla. I was excited along with everyone else when it hit, but I’m going back to their Taco Supreme. It may not have been constructed by me, and the tomatoes may strangely sit on top, but that thing really comes as close to perfect as anything I’ve found for purchase. Listen, I get it that some people out there love their authentic Mexican restaurant tacos, but I am not a fan. What is that cheese they use? It’s funky! And where are the tomatoes? Don’t bother asking for any, either, because if you ask for tomatoes, you’ll just get a big awkward slice. So weird.

When Taco Bell isn’t an option, Moe’s has a pretty good taco. Not that Taco Bell isn’t always an option, but sometimes you’re with someone who

Welcome to Moe’s

gets funked out about going to Taco Bell and McDonald’s type places, and in those cases, Moe’s will do. Although I really prefer their all the way chicken fajita. If you do end up at a Moe’s, don’t bother with the steak taco. It sounds like a good idea, but it’s not a great meat they’re using, and a real let down. Just go with the ground beef.

Take it from me, I’ve had steak, chicken, cow tongue and cactus tacos, and I have learned that no matter what order you like your taco ingredients, the bottom should always be ground beef.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Entrees, Food, Lunch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

