Happy National Apple Betty Day (10/5)

Also known as a Brown Betty, the Apple Betty is kind of like a lazy, ugly apple pie. “Ugly Betty,” perhaps would be a better name for it. It’s so easy and inexpensive to make that a college student could do it. It requires a crock pot, some apples, bread, brown sugar and butter. It’s nice if you can throw in some other spices like pumpkin spice, allspice vanilla extract and cinnamon, but they’re not really required to complete the Apple Betty experience.

It’s really no use trying to research where a bunch of bread and apples were first cooked together, but the Apple Betty is generally claimed by the South. Truthfully, it would be at its full authentic best if the ingredients were cooked in a cast iron skillet over a camp fire. Ooooo, that really would be delicious! Camping on a chilly Fall night, plop that mess into the pan and let those cooked apples rage through the air! That’s probably going to happen for me some day.

A lot of recipes recommend that you use granny smith apples to make an Apple Betty. That kind of made me nervous, though. I haven’t eaten fresh apples in over ten years, not since my fresh fruit allergy manifested itself. You know, I still remember the last fresh apple that I ate. It was indeed a granny smith. I knew at that point that cherries triggered the reaction, but not apples. We were on the way to the Annual Celtic Festival to have a little haggis and beer, and I had pulled out an apple to snack on when we hit the traffic jam that had formed getting into the parking lot. It only took three bites before my throat started to close up. Stupid allergies!

Ok, I was saying something about the kind of apples to use… oh, right! My point was that I remembered how sour granny smith apples could be, and I thought they might be a little over powering in the dessert. But, with so many choices of apple, galas, fujis, golden delicious, I was at a loss as to which ones tasted like what. I wanted a little mixture of sweet and sour apples, so I went with a two granny smiths and a gala, but I really don’t know what the gala did because I couldn’t try it. It worked, although I think next time I’ll try a 2-to-1 gala-to-granny smith.

Ugly Betty in the Crock Pot

My recipe was an amalgamation of all the ones I read online. They’re all about the same:

3 apples
7 slices of whole wheat bread
1/2 cup of brown sugar
1 tsp of cinnamon
1 tsp pumpkin spice
1 tsp allspice
1 stick of butter

I dumped all the apples in the crock pot, then mixed up all the spices and bread together, dumped that on top, then dumped the melted butter on top. Let it sit on high for 3-hours, and Done!

See you Saturday for National Noodle Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in blogging, Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

