Happy National Dessert Day! (10/9)

When we’re talking about desserts, are we talking about the last course of a meal, or are we simply talking about something sweet? Or does it need be both? The reviews on this are a bit mixed. Surely celery wouldn’t ever be considered dessert if it were served at the end of a meal, unless maybe you coat it in peanut butter and chocolate chips. Frankly, if I had it my way, fruit would be out too. The Japanese are always trying to pass off orange or pineapple slices as dessert. No domo, man. No domo! I think I’d choose fried chicken over fruit for a dessert. I actually have done that, but it was really awesome fried chicken, and the “real” dessert section of the buffet just wasn’t that great.

Of course, when we were kids in the lunch room, where there was no parental supervision, we’d often say “I’m going to eat my dessert first,” which would suggest that to be considered a dessert, it need not take place at the end, it just need be excessively calorie prone. This is probably the reason that the Japanese always stick a little tiny squirt of whipped cream on top and toss a maraschino cherry on for good measure. Either that or because they think that I’m going to just think it’s an orange slice sundae. It seems to me that on National Dessert Day, you really have to jump all in and just eat the sweet stuff. It’s just one day, right? Well, with Fall right here in our faces, at least it’s just one more day. It’s like a warm up for the Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas trifecta of desserty goodness. Yes, Halloween! Based on the above discussion, I’m including candy in the dessert category, and it is my belief that, at 60 calories per experience, the Blow Pop is quite possibly the most ingenious candy there is. It can last up to 30-minutes, it comes in four delicious flavors, and it always ends in gum that offers an additional nine seconds of flavor before it turns to wax. So, on the way out the door to lunch, I dipped into my Blow Pop jar at work, and had my dessert first.

Times are tight these days, so I took lunch at home. Of course the drive home is twenty-three miles long, which means with gas prices sitting at $3.59 right now,

Everyone should have a cookie jar.

and my car getting approximately 25 mpg, I spent almost  $7.50 just  to  get  there and back  to save the $7.50  it would have cost me to go get a sandwich and some chips. It was all worth it, though, because home has the cookie jar, and the cookie jar always has cookies in it. I think if you’re an American and don’t have a cookie jar in your home with cookies in it, you’ve lost touch with a significant part of your culture. It means your kids also probably never play in the sprinklers.

Pictured up top is the variety of desserts that I bought relatively fresh from the bakery. The triple chocolate cupcake for my daughter, the triple chocolate brownie for my wife, and the key lime cheesecake for me. My daughter and wife ended up splitting their desserts, and I’ll say they were both fantastic. Sometimes people really tend to mess up chocolate desserts somehow. Fresh Market did not. The key lime cheese cake, however, sucked. Those two things just don’t go together I guess. And it was not fresh.

Oh well, I’ll make it up tomorrow on National Angel Food Cake Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

