Happy National Pumpkinfest Day! (10/13)

As tough as it is to participate in every food day on The List, it’s even tougher to write a blog about them all. That’s because not only are most of them completely unfounded food holidays, but also most of the foods themselves track back too far to have any authentic origin what so ever. For these reasons, most of what I’ve written has been as full of it as the days themselves, so the approach of National Pumkinfest Day was something that I knew I’d need to be amping up for, A) because I instinctively knew there was going to be no origin for Pumpkinfest? and B) because how was I going to pull off a Pumpkinfest?

I had thought about buying a bunch of pumpkins and decorating the front porch. And of course, eating too many pumpkin desserts with a pumpkin late would be a good plan as well. They were fine ideas, but they both felt like cheap definitions of a Pumpkinfest. Not that I wouldn’t get away with it. My daughter considers the simple act of her mom and I marching around each other in a circle to be a parade. It’s all in the presentation.

13th Annual Havana Pumpkinfest

Then, it was so weird! I’m listening to the radio and I can’t believe what I’m hearing. The 13th Annual Havana Pumpkinfest was happening on none other than National Pumpkinfest Day itself. And it was all going down just 30-minutes away! Coincidence? Turns out, kind of — yep.

Of course there are plenty of Pumpkinfests in October across the United States. Little towns have got to make a buck too. Keene New Hampshire has one, but it’s not till the 20th. Cortland, NY had one, but it was back on October 6th and 7th. Havana’s is right on with The List, though, and it was going to be going on in a big way.

Havana’s Pumpkinfest was definitely everything you could ever expect from a small town festival. It had bouncey houses, craft stands, polish sausage vendors, some old man driving children around in a makeshift train with cars made from rain barrels and a tractor for an engine… you know everything! The only thing it was really lacking was pumpkins. Well, it had a “pumpkin patch,” where you could buy pumpkins, but I really expected there to be more stuff made from pumpkin. You know, like my plan for Pumpkinfest? There wasn’t.

I did get a pretty good piece of pumpkin pie from a church booth. They were just handing them out free of charge. That always wins. There was also a pumpkin funnel cake, but it didn’t really taste too pumpin-ish. Just a little. And when I mentioned the lack of pumpkin stuff to that vendor, she let me know that this was the first year she had decided to make a pumpkin funnel cake!

“Look, it’s a dog in a hat!”

Oh well. It was still fun. My daughter certainly had a great time, and the pumpkin pie was really good. I’ll get plenty of pumpkin throughout the rest of Fall anyway.

On a side note: A the Pumkinfest, I learn that you should never put a hat on your basset hound and go to a festival unless you want excessive attention from everyone. The way people were reacting, you’d think I was toting around a monkey!

See you Monday for National Mushroom Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in blogging, Food, holiday traditions, memories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

