Happy National Chocolate Cupcake Day! (10/19)

Cupcakes are like this decade’s coffee, or yogurt, or fried anything. It’s almost gotten to the degree of outrageous. Much like our ancestors of a hundred years ago would never have guessed that their great-great grand children would be frying cookies and Twinkies or opening store fronts that only sell coffee, they would also have a hard time predicting TV shows dedicated to cupcakes. Well, I guess they would probably have a hard time predicting TV shows in general, so imagine how hard it would be for them to see TV shows about cupcakes coming along!

I’ve been to a few of the cupcake places like they feature on Cupcake Wars. One of them, Lucy and Leo’s, actually was on “Cupcake Wars.” They’re cute little places to go and get a cupcake, I guess. I don’t really get it, though, that so many people are craving cupcakes. I’ve had cravings for candy, for ice cream, for coffee (that’s more of an addictive need, I suppose), for a beer, for fried chicken, but a craving for a cupcake? I just can’t say that it’s ever really hit me. Then again, it’s more than likely that an affinity for cupcakes is something that is just not housed as prominently in the human y-chromosome.

Still, if I’m going to be around them anyway, you better believe that I’m gettin’ me one of them cupcakes! So, on National Chocolate Cupcake Day, oh my chocolatey goodness, did I have a cupcake! You may have read here, on an occasion or two, that I am not a “chocolate person.” There are just other sweet things that I gravitate heavier towards. This doesn’t mean that I’m not a fan of the cocoa bean, though. To think that would not only be wrong, it would just be flat-out stupid! Chocolate is a very important part of my palate. In fact, I believe that when you do decide to go down the road of chocolate, it’s vitally important that you put the pedal to the floor and take up both lanes!

That’s why, on National Chocolate Cupcake Day, only a triple chocolate cupcake would do, complete with chocolatey cake, chocolatey icing and choclatey chocolate chips all on the top. Now, here’s a challenge for you. Try to slip into your house after work one day, holding a handful of triple chocolate cupcakes, announce that it’s National Chocolate Cupcake Day,  and see if you can elicit a calm and quiet reaction. I failed this challenge miserably. Of course I announced it like I was Oprah giving the audience new cars, and my family reacted like I was The President giving away eternal life, so if that was the challenge, I guess I kind of set myself up to fail.

Eyes on the prize!

Here’s the other thing about bringing home a bunch of triple chocolate cupcakes, No one cares what’s for dinner anymore, so you can get away with just about anything. I cooked some chicken chunks in a little teriyaki marinade, boiled some green beans, and we all just ate it without a nod or complaint to the chef because all eyes were on the prize. And the prize was delicious!

See you Saturday for Brandied Fruit Day.   

 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy National Chocolate Cupcake Day! (10/19)

  1. Java Girl says:

    Chocolatey goodness, YES indeed! Great post! These cupcakes look amazing!! Hope you and your family have a wonderful weekend! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

