Having a Brandy Infused Day (10/20)

National Brandied Fruit Day is an interesting day for me to celebrate because there are many fruits that I am allergic to. No life threatening effects, mind you, just a closing up of the throat that gets me a little panicky. Fortunately, the allergy doesn’t pertain to all fruit. It seems to only be the ones with the edible skins. Apples, pears, peaches, cherries, not grapes for some reason, but most of the others.

There are ways that I can still partake in these fruits, however. Benadryl is always my friend when I’m about to lose it because Ranier Cherries are in season. If I don’t want to be sleepy, however, the canned or cooked versions of these fruits are always an option. It seems that removing a fruit’s freshness also seems to remove its allergens. Of course, this option also removes some of the joy from the experience of eating fruit.

Soaking fruit in booze, it turns out, is another very effective, and fairly tasty way that allows someone with this pectin allergy, or whatever it is, to eat fruit while still keeping their freshness somewhat in tact. It must work in a similar way as how soaking something in lemon juice overnight will “cook” out any harmful bacteria. Brandy is a great compliment for most fruits, though. Plus, when you’re done eating the fruit, there’s this fantastic helping of brandy-fruit schnapps infused at the bottom.

A long way to schapps!

My schnapps consisted of some chopped up strawberries, a pear, an apple, a peach and some blackberries. I’m not allergic to all of those, but apples and pears are definitely a big no-no without booze on it.  Then, I poured in a shot of brandy and a shot of apricot brandy, and filled the rest of the bowl with orange juice. I know that for many, brandied fruit is a thing that sits in mason jars for months, but who’s got that much time?

See you tomorrow for National Nut Day.  (Hey! I wonder if you brandied peanuts, it would get rid of that allergy!)

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Booze, Food, liquor, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

