Happy National Chocolate Day (10/28)

There have been so many occassions of chocolate over the past 264 days, that it’s hard to not experience aspects of deja vu on this, a National Chocolate Day. The List is extremely dessert heavy in general, as it turns out, so chocolate was ineveitably going to be a hot item. So far, some of the chocolate treats that have come up have been Cream-Filled Chocolate Day,  National Chocolate Souffle Day, National Black Forest Cake Day,  American German Chocolate Cake Day… it’s basicaly about three to eight chocolate things each month. 

So, as we hit National Chocolate Day, you can see how my modes of celebration begin to look and feel quite familiar. After my belly felt like it was beginning to heal from the day before’s BBQ Beef Brisquet sandwich, a big cup of chocolate malt Ovaltine sounded like an ideal way to begin National Chocolate Day. Made with vanilla almond milk, this stuff tastes so delicious that I think could charge $3 per glass and never hear a gripe. I’m not lactose intollerant. I can tollerate it. Vanilla almond milk is just better.

Two out of three of my favorite candies.

Moving on in the day, since my daughter was attending a Halloween party this afternoon, it was very certain that more chocolate celebration was going to be readily available with little to no effort, and with absolute certainty, this became so. There were chocolate chip cookies, little iced Halloween brownies, and an enormous bin of little mini Whoppers, Kit Kats. Whoppers and Milk Duds, two of which just happen to be my absolute favorite candies. An astounding coincidence! 

For the evening portion of today’s celebration of chocolate, though, it seemed that something unique had to be eaten. Not necessarily an epic choclate treat, but something that my palate would find interesting and my eyes would not necessarily recognize right off. This was accomplished with a chocolate carrot cake that I found at the Fresh Market bakery. I’ve said before that you can improve just about any already yummy dessert by just adding some chocolate to it, and whoever baked this chocolate carrot cake thing up must have thoroughly agreed. Chocolate carrot cake is the thing pictured up top there, behind the thing that destroyed me in two bites. The triple chocolate cake, also from Fresh Market, was so rich I just couldn’t go on. Two bites! Embarassing, right? It’s funny, I can eat steak all day. Ice cream, I’ll do a double scoop on a chocolate dipped cone. But cheese cake and really good chocolate cakes? Forget about it!

You know, they say chocolate is an aphrodisiac of sorts. I guess that theory will be well tested tonight. Happy National Chocolate Day!

See you Monday for National Oatmeal Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in candy, Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy National Chocolate Day (10/28)

  1. Java Girl says:

    That chocolate cake looks amazing!! I just finished drinking my French Hot Chocolate. It usually takes 20 minutes to make because it’s a process, but well worth it! I usually take short cuts and make it half amount of that time, but today I had plenty of time, so I did the usual 20 minute ritual. Always great to read your foody blogs! Keep up the great work! Hope your little one has a great Halloween tomorrow! 🙂

    • Jim Clark says:

      That sounds GROSS! But, the good kind of gross like how all the kids are saying it. I can’t pull that stuff off. Thank you for keeping up and thinking about my boy!

      I’m glad that you’re ok! There’s no update on your blog after the storm, and all we see on the news is Jersey, so… YAY! You’re ok!

      • Java Girl says:

        Lol! Really? I’ve never heard the new “gross” lingo. I have an 11 year old boy and I hear his little “lingos” a lot. He loves the French Hot Chocolate! I think the latest “lingo” is “Jelly” which means “jealous”. Ah, kids. Remember back at the day when (well at least me) “grody” for “gross”!! Lol! Yes, we are ok. Thanks for asking and wondering. I do have tweets that I update in case I don’t blog. They are on the right hand corner on the side. Happy Halloween!

      • Jim Clark says:

        … aand followed!

Leave a Reply

