Happy National Candy Corn Day! (10/30)

On the day before Halloween, could there possibly be a candy more popular than Candy Corn? After all, these little tri-colored, vampire tooth shaped confections have been a favorite Fall treat for over a hundred years. So, today as I glanced the shelves at the grocery store expected to be able to just grab and go. 

No Candy Corn on candy aisle.

This, it turns out was an incorrect assumption because there weren’t any! There weren’t any at Publix or Walgreens, not in the regular candy aisle or in the Trick-or-Treat candy aisle. It would make sense that they all would have

Not even in the Brach’s bins!

been bought up for weekend Halloween parties, I suppose, but it was clear that they had either long since been cleaned out, or had never stocked up in the first place. There were even “serve yourself Brach’s candy bins with absolutely no candy corn representation.

Every kind of Oreo except Candy Corn.

“Back up plan!” I thought, remembering that in mid-September of this year the news programs were all a buzz about how Oreos, responding to Candy Corn’s longevity of popularity since the 1880’s, had actually released a Candy Corn stuffed vanilla cookie. “Well, I’ll just settle for a pack of those,” I thought. But when I scanned the cookie shelves, it was the same result. There were none! They didn’t even have an inventory label for the things on a shelf. Sure, they had Oreos stuffed with gingerbread, mint, golden cream, chocolate and peanut butter, but no candy corn version. Not at Publix or Walmart! Seriously, what was the point of making them if they weren’t going to be around for Halloween? I was beginning to feel a little insane.

Candy Corn M&M’s

Finally I broke down and asked for assistance. Publix’s self-proclaimed Candy Corn enthusiast at the customer service desk strangely did not know if they ever carried actual Candy Corns, but she did inform me that they carried M&M’s that were Candy Corn flavored. Ok. Never heard of them, but if it was the only option available anywhere on National Candy Corn day, so they would just have to do. M&M’s version is good. Very Candy Corn-ish. Still, it felt cheap, eating M&Ms on National Candy Corn Day. I had to try one more stop. After all, there are four Wal-marts in town.

Tallahassee’s Last Bag of Candy Corn

Again, there weren’t any in the Halloween candy aisle. They had none of the Candy Corn Oreos in the cookie aisle either. Finally, on to the regular candy aisle. My eyes were becoming frantic as I scanned. There was even an actual sense of panic happening. It was slight, but definitely there. Then, I spotted it, top of the rack. The very last bag of Brach’s Candy Corns in the entire city! As I stepped back to take a picture, I had this very real fear that someone would come up behind me and grab it before I could.

You know, they really are uniquely good. And “made with real honey,” apparently! After getting a bag of the real deal, I put them up against M&M’s version. It’s not even close! An M&M is an M&M, and a Candy Corn is a Candy Corn is a Candy Corn!

See you Friday for National Deviled Egg Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in candy, Food, Halloween and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

