Happy National Bittersweet Chocolate With Almonds Day (11/7)

Today seemed like it would be an easy one to celebrate. Some of the hardest challenges that come from “The List,” however, are the ones that appear to be the most easy. Case in point, National Bittersweet Chocolate With Almonds Day. It kind of just rolls off the tongue, doesn’t it? I’m surprised Halmark doesn’t make a line of cards celebrating today. It does just sound like a three dollar chocolate bar, though, and that’ why I made no preparation for it. Why, it’s nothing but a stop at the store on the way home from work. No preparation required. Well, it turns out, that’s not exactly the case.

On the candy aisle, there’s all kinds of milk chocolate and peanut bars. There’s a nice variety of dark chocolate and almond bars. And there are even a couple of Bittersweet Chocolate bars, but none with nuts. So, where does that leave me? Same place that I’m always left when I can’t take the easy road to eating the day’s featured National food from The List, in an aisle of the grocery store with Google pulled up on my phone.

There were plenty of little “Bittersweet Chocolate and Almond Bark” type things, but they all seemed like really complex baking for a Wednesday night. There were also a rash of other people writing about National Bittersweet Chocolate with Almonds Day. I mean, JEESH people! Get some originality, am I right?

The thing was that I already had a half a of Bittersweet Chocolate chips at home. I began thinking, can’t I just buy a scoop of almonds from the nut bins, go home, mix them together and grab a spoon? I mean, that would be well within the parameters of the “Holiday,” I would think. Still, that just felt a bit too easy. Somewhere in between fancy, from scratch, fudge bars and a complete unfortified bowl of chocolate cereal.

This is a great way to cheat “Home Made” Cookies.

The answer came in a box on the cookie aisle. It was actually quite brilliant, if I do say so myself. I took the box of Toll House chocolate chip cookie mix, sifted out their generic chocolate chips, and replaced them with too many of my own fancy bittersweet ones. Then, I added a package of shaved almonds, and BOOM, I had Bittersweet Chococlate Chip Cookies With Almonds! I truly think I could have entered these bad boy in a legitimate baking contest and no one would have the slightest thought that I didn’t make them from scratch.

If you ever need to get away with something at your next church potluck, give this little trick a try. Or next year on National Bittersweet Chocolate With Almonds Day!

See you Saturday for National Vanilla Cupcake Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in blogging, Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

