Cah-Cah-CASHEW!!! (11/23)

Cashews are over rated and over priced. I think we can all agree on that, right? Well, if you’re a cashew “lover,” maybe you don’t know whether you agree or not because even people who preference cashews, really don’t ever buy an exclusive container of them. They just individually pick them out from the container of mixed nuts.

$6.50 Worth of Cashews… Really??

Ok, this is why I’m saying this: This stupid, tiny bag of raw cashews cost just over $6.50!!  What is this, like, an eighth of a pound? Based on the listed cost per pound of these raw cashews, I think if I had bought a full pound, I would have paid just about $1,800. I may be off by a grand or two, but still, that mess is expensive!

So, I guess here’s what I’m saying about cashews, they’re EXPENSIVE!!! That being said, when you buy them solo, and super expensive out of the bins like this, not “roasted” and salted in a mix of other nuts (you know, almonds and whatever), they’re actually kind of good. You’ll notice that there’s no explanation point at the end of that, though. They’re kind… of.. good.

Ok, look, perhaps you missed my National Chocolate Covered Cashew Day post, when I made it clear about my feelings about cashews. In that post, I actually also made reference to my post from National Almond Day, when I also made it very clear about my feelings about the cashew. If you saw neither, then here’s what you missed, I’m traditionally not a cashew fan… at all.

Here’s the thing that I’m saying, though, if you spend a lot of money on these little alien ear shaped nuts, they actually aren’t too bad. There’s a sweetness to them, isn’t there? It makes me think, maybe, I might have missed out  over the past thirty years of my life that somewhere inside all of the additional roasting, salting, and other nut mixing, cashews have got something happening.

This is what the growth of cashew looks like? GROSS!!

Then I decided to look up how they grow. Honestly, I about threw up in my own baby’s mouth at the sight. I know that seems rash, but look at this thing!! That thing is some kind of butternut squash with a giant green poop coming out if its butt. AND THE POOP IS THE CASHEW!

Look, I never said that my blog was going to be classy, but cashews are funky, dude! As of this blog, I think I can officially put cashews on just about the same plane of “like” as frog’s legs.

See you Saturday on National Parfait Day.

 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in blogging, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

