Happy National Parfait Day! (10/25)

Yep, I’m gonna do it!

Back on National Strawberry Parfait Day, I re-posted National Chocolate Parfait Day, maybe out of laziness, but mostly because I had already covered all the “interesting” stuff about it then, and ya know what? I’m going to do it again on today’s National Parfait Day. There just isn’t that much more about this layered concoction of fruit, sweets, ice cream, yogurt, granola, nuts, or none of the above.

Something different that I did come to live and learn about the parfait today, however, that I didn’t achieve the first time, is that you can book end National Parfait Day as a breakfast and a dessert. Well, technically, I didn’t do precisely that today either, because due to the occasional 1-on, 2 (or so) off nature of “The List,” I lost track again, trying to celebrate National Parfait Day, a day early. For this reason, while everyone else was feasting on fried gator tail and BBQ, my wife and I were the only two people tailgating at the FSU v. UF game who were eating yogurt and fruit parfaits. I’m pretty sure a few dudes really wanted to kick my butt, and not because of the color scheme of my shirt.

For dessert it was a Cookies & Cream parfait and/or a key lime Pie parfait. Cookies & Cream good, key lime Pie bad. I bought them both at Publix, so I only have myself to blame. I just find it thoroughly irritating when Florida based businesses make key lime pie with lime… with a slice of lime on top. Especially when, in the produce section, under handed throw away, they have key limes!!

See you Monday for National Cake Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

