Happy National Bouillabaisse Day! (12/14)

BouliabaisseAfter a thoroughly successful day of fishing, catching their limit of fish, shrimp, mussels, and whatever else, and then after gutting, cleaning filleting, and shelling the lot, there would likely be a massive amount of unused little fishy parts that one could just scrape right back into the sea. Like the carcass of a Thanksgiving Day turkey, however, if you were to throw all of those little fishy parts into a boiling pot of water, it might just make a pretty good bowl of stew!

I’m guessing this is how the Bouillabaisse came to be, because when I looked up recipes on how to make it, they all might as well have just started with, “Go to the seafood market and get a hell of a lot of different kinds of seafood!” No two recipes are the same, they just all consist of whatever kinds of this or that dead brine-based critter you care to throw in.

It’s been a while since I’ve had to buy a tiny six-dollar tin of saffron, and I never use the rest, but still, I’m an instant fan of this stuff! Living in Florida, I’m a seafood nut anyway, but this was like the gumbo that I’ve always wanted! Of course, it’s easy to overcook seafood, so serving the stuff immediately is kind of important, but a hint of lemon and some cilantro thrown in for good measure, I was thrilled to have an extra pint of the stuff to eat on the rest of the week!

I’d never really heard of it before, but now National Bouillabaisse Day is a 100% recommend!

See you Saturday for National Lemon Cupcake Day… bleh!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in blogging, Entrees, Food, Lunch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

