Happy Lemon Cupcake Day! (12/16)

Lemon CupcakeThis day must pass quickly into my past, as I am well on the record for having a palpable disdain for desserts that incorporate lemon in the recipe. Lemon meringue pie, lemon bars and lemon custard are just weird! Lemon drops are alright. They’re candy and not true desserts. But National Lemon Cupcake Day is not my friend!

Just get it over with, is of course my first thought, and I had meant to go to the store and get some instant stuff, but ran short on time at the end of the day. This meant that I had to make it from scratch. Ugh! I actually had a 1/4 cup of fresh lemon juice in the refrigerator that I needed to use up anyway. Some friends of mine have a lemon tree that is currently fruiting lemons so large and juicy that one lemon produces more than 1/4 cup by itself. These are definitely not your average store bought lemons.

Premeasured ingredients is the secret to a kid cooking.

Premeasured ingredients is the secret to a kid cooking.

I laid the ingredients out on the stove, and called my daughter over to put them all together with me. There might as well have been something positive to come from this day, right? Baking is a great activite to do with your kid, because if you pre-measure everything out and then let your kid dump it all in the bowls and stir, you know, like cooks do for the morning anchors on the network news shows, it makes them feel like they made it all by themselves, but with none of the mess all over the place.

The reason baking is not great, however, is because I still can’t do it. Ten months into this blog, and I just don’t have the hang of it. It’s so weird! I can make a Lego model by following the step-by-step instructions; I can put together a piece of particle board furniture by following the directions; I can even hook up a receiver and surround sound with a set of instructions. When it comes to adding sugar and eggs to flour, however, it all just falls apart. In fact the only thing that I’ve even kind of got the hang of is cookies… and nothing too fancy!

Icing can hide a lot of ugly!

Icing can hide a lot of ugly!

After explicitly following the recipe, my lemon cupcakes… I mean my daughter’s lemon cupcakes, never rose to their full cupcake glory, and turned out tasting eggy. In all fairness, I didn’t let the eggs get to exactly room temperature, but they were pretty close. There was an unexpected error in our creation, however. Somehow, the flavor of the lemon juice dissipated. Maybe that kind of lemon isn’t wired for baking either.

It was a good flavor trade, though, the lemon for the egg. The depressed top was an easy fix too. I just made icing from some icing from a can of leftover condensed milk. Man, that stuff never goes bad! I’ve seen worse. My daughter said they were the best cupcakes she’s ever had in her entire life, and wants to bring one to her teacher on Monday. I guess that’s ok. As long as she tells her that she made them.

See you Sunday for National Chocolate Covered Anything Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in blogging, Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

