Happy National Bicarbonate of Soda Day (12/30)

No, it's not National Cocaine Day!

No, it’s not National Cocaine Day!

“I don’t know, I think it’s just, like, an ice cream soda,” I told my wife when she asked what bicarbonate soda is. Certainly, because that 85% of the entire “National Day” list has been composed of desserts, it was a good guess. That’s not what it is, though. Not by a long shot!

B.O.S. in the Fridge

B.O.S. in the Fridge

This is the first time, since launching this 12-month voyage, that I have encountered something that I had not known what it was, while simultaneously possessing it in my house, and I mean all over the house! Yep! Bicarbonate of soda is baking soda, and I’ve got boxes of good old Arm & Hammer in just about every corner of everywhere. At one B.O.S. in the Pantrytime, the company did a fairly good job of convinced most of us that shoving a box in the back of the refrigerator will combat funky odors in the refrigerator, as well as anywhere else that funky odors might loom. I never asked if or why, I just did it.

So, I own a lot of Bicarbonate of Soda. What does that prove? Sure I’ve used a teaspoon here or there to make some random thing, but before The List, I hadn’t ever actually used it for anything. No, before then, in fact! Not since well before I bought all of these boxes that are now sitting everywhere. I think the last time I used Bicarbonate of Soda was for scientific purposes in 2nd or 3rd grade, in combination with club soda and food coloring.

Turns out, though, this stuff has quite a following! It’s like some kind of wonder chemical, like Grandma’s Lye Soap. Why, if you read some of the postings about Bicarbonate of Soda, you’d think that it’s the active ingredient in just about everything that you pay five dollars or more for in the cleaning aisle of the grocery, as well as every aisle of a pharmacy!

In just a few minutes, I read about Bicarbonate of Soda getting out stains, cleaning grout, pulling up grease, relieving heartburn, clearing bug bites and acne, dissolving kidney stones, and even curing cancer! All of this, and it makes volcanos? Who now could possibly claim the non-existence of God?

IT'S RIGHT ON THE BOX!!

IT’S RIGHT ON THE BOX!!

National Bicarbonate of Soda Day has opened my eyes to a great deal, that is certain, but there was no bigger self-revelation today, than coming to realize that while I am extremely observant of those things that are only slightly askew, I am forever ignorant of the consistently unchanged, the prominent and the overt. The fact that I did not know that baking soda is used to cure acid indigestion is absolutely ridiculous, since right next to the recipe for cookies on the back of the box, is the recipe for curing belly woes. How ingenious is that? Bicarbonate of Soda can be used to make cookies that give you indigestion, and then by taken to get rid of its own designed function. Perfect!

See you Tuesday for National Buffet Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in blogging, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

